The Legend Shaper Award and Icon Shaper Award will be announced soon

“It’s a big responsibility, there’s a thousand names, there will be 2000 next year, what have you done to me?” That’s absolute surfing icon and 1978 World Champ Rabbit Bartholomew talking about his role as one of the three judges of the inaugural FCS Shaper Awards – a new venture from FCS that’s seeking to celebrate and honour the corest of surf core legends we have: shapers!

Rabbit Bartholomew will be joined in judging the award by Tom Carroll and Brad Gerlach. That’s a hefty panel.

There are going to be two categories to the award: the Legend Shaper Award and the Icon Shaper Award, with one winner for each category.

The Legend Shaper Award will go to someone who has a minimum of 40 years commitment to the shaping trade, has made a significant contribution to surfboard design, is highly respected by their peers, and is currently shaping.

The Icon Shaper Award will go to someone slightly fresher, with a minimum of 20 years commitment to shaping, who has also shown an innovative and committed approach to shaping, as well as being highly regarded in the surfboard building trade, and is still currently shaping.

For more info, hit the offical page.


Danny Johnson